Where in the world…

12 Jan

Where in the world!! This is exactly how I feel about so many things! Where in the world have the past 3 weeks gone and where in the world am I right now?!

I am back on the ship after a three-week (WONDERFUL) holiday at home! I can’t even try to describe everything that I was blessed to be able to do and how many of my loved people I got to see!! I feel like I can accurately say that I don’t think I have ever been so busy in my ENTIRE life… and I am feeling on a whole new level that I need a vacation- from vacation. 

My time at home started with the best greeting ever at the airport! Little Ty-boy (my nephew) totally didn’t know who I was… and might have cried… also, he isn’t actually so little anymore, but I LOVED seeing him and my whole family waiting for me when I got off the plane. Sara came to visit (best.friend.ever.) and flew in about an hour after I did, so we had quite the carload leaving the airport! Sara and my time together was spent talking A TON (stop being shocked about that!), brunch with grandma, lunch with Nana and Bumpa, a quickie trip to West Palm, pedicures with Laur and Tara, and a little shopping (it HAD to be done… I survived a rrrreaaaallll long time without seeing a Target). 

Christmas was spent with my entire family, including my grandparents who officially live in Florida now after a lifetime in Massachusetts. I think it was the most special Christmas ever. I loved just being able to wake up in the same house as my parents and knowing that my sister was going to stop by at some point during the day.  Brian came down for a really big part of time at home and we did SUPER fun and adventurous (I know… Africa has changed me!) things- including parasailing and hand gliding (pictures below)!! Mostly it was just the best thing of my life to get to be with that boy! We completed lots of things I was looking forward to about everyday, normal life in the United States- it brought out an entire new side of my extreme love of details when I was freaking out the silliest little things, such as finding the best limited-edition Publix ice-cream. I think I maybe screamed a little bit… in the middle of the aisle.

The Lord gave me the best holiday ever! It was so refreshing to be around almost all of my most favorite loved ones- in such a short amount of time. I am safely in Africa and fully recovered from my trip back to the ship. It is funny… when I was at home I felt so much like I fit and belonged there… and now that I am back here, I know that I also have a place here. It is weird how the Lord can make you feel like you belong in more than one place! More details to come on Togo soon… I have lots to tell about it!

Thanks for all of your thoughts and prayers about my time at home- it was absolutely wonderful! 

5 Responses to “Where in the world…”

  1. Aunt Mary Jane January 12, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    Glad you had a great trip home. Hope this year brings many more wonderful adventures your way! Keep up the posts, I love reading them.

  2. amybanksjacobs January 13, 2012 at 5:40 am #

    Thanks Aunt Mary Jane!! I hope so too- I think it will 🙂

  3. Caitlin January 14, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    Such wonderful photos!! It looks like you had so much fun! I love the pic of you guys on New Years eve too, SO cute 🙂 It was wonderful seeing you for Slurpee time of course 🙂 Love you and can’t wait for you to return again!

  4. Pat Horner January 16, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    It was so good to see you! Thank you for taking the time to stop by school and see us. I am so glad you had a wonderful visit! You can store up those times like a squirrel with nuts, and when you start to feel a little homesick you can nibble on a little memory. This time is going to fly by enjoy and keep those blogs coming!!

    • amybanksjacobs January 17, 2012 at 11:20 am #

      It was SO great to see you Mrs. Horner!! I LOVED being at HLJ for just a little bit of my break… it would seem weird to be in Florida and not go there!! I hope your break went well- I miss you!!

Leave a comment