Vacationing…

7 Mar

I feel this is appropriate title because besides working, I feel like most of my free time has been spent do vacationy-type activities. I know I keep saying this… but Togo is FULL of cute little restaurants and pools at hotels we can use. The good friends also make things extra fun!

A friend of mine from Gateway, Candace, is getting married to a boy she met on the ship. In preparation for her wedding, a small group of us had a bachelorette party for her… which was kinda tricky because we are in Africa! We heard about a local hotel that has a nice pool and also has massage services, so the girl that was organizing the party thought this would be perfect! Candace could be pampered while the rest of us sat poolside. Ended up that the masseuse took us all to her house (which clearly I was super nervous about when she told us that was where we were going), which was a mansion. Pictures below of where we spent our day relaxing by a private pool. Her little son took our drink orders and delivered us snacks… Our time at her house ended with her giving us a tour. As I was standing in her kitchen I couldn’t stop thinking about how I got into a Togolese woman’s car (who I didn’t know!), went to her house (I am also not exactly sure where we were), stayed by her pool ALL day and let her son buy me a drink off the street and bring it to me. Interesting day.

I am embarrassed (or excited… I can’t determine which adjective is better) to tell you how my time has been filled this past Saturday. Kayleigh, Angie, and I went off ship and had a real lunch date and it was so fun!! We met a group of people at a local restaurant that we have come to love through the past few weeks… and even though they were people from the ship that we could eat lunch with every day, we felt it was special to arrange to meet them off ship! The rest of the day was spent watching an ENTIRE season of a show (Downton Abbey? Anyone watched it? If not… you NEED to!). I feel convicted to announce that this was like 9 hours of consecutive television… but then when I think about how life after Mercy Ships will not allow for such a useless day, I convince myself it is fine.

I got a new student in my class this week, so we are back up to 3… and all girls. I can’t even describe how much I love them!! Even though a class of three has challenges (this is not a lie… all you teacher friends of mine with big classes… stop laughing!), mostly I love that I know them each so well.

I have begun to start making plans for my life after my commitment to the Mercy Ships Academy ends. It is stressful to try to orchestrate details from across the world and begin preparing my heart to be somewhere other than this community that I am now used to. I am beyond excited to see where the Lord is leading me… we all know that being in Africa has been a great, but really challenging experience for me! When I find my mind wandering to the dangerous place of wishing I was home so badly… I remember that my days left here is getting to be a small number and a big piece of me will be sad when I say goodbye to this temporary home. One thing that makes Mercy Ships so awesome is that the Lord calls people here from completely different lives to work together. Along with this truth though, is the one that makes me realize that when we leave Mercy Ships we are dispersed to our separate lives all around the world. The blessing of time spent together as coworkers and friends needs to be cherished, and I know the Lord keeps trying to calm my heart and remind me of this! ALSO… He is sending me a piece of my world at home HERE… because my parents are coming in just 3 weeks!!

One Response to “Vacationing…”

  1. Aunt Mary Jane March 8, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    Enjoyed reading about more of your many adventures! Your parents are going to love that they get to be a part of this amazing trip! Once in a life time? Or maybe not? Time will tell!

Leave a comment